Q. What advice can you provide about marketing a technique or product?

A. Publish educational articles on the topic that pertains to your technique or product. It’s generous to your audience and demonstrates your expertise on that topic.

Q. If you knew then what you know now, what would you have done differently starting out?

A. I’m happy to say, mostly nothing, I would have just been more confident about my decision to go into holistic medicine at a time when it wasn’t

that popular or recognized.

Q. How do you balance your work life and your personal life?

A. I don’t work weekends and I’ve learned to say no to my clients to maintain reasonable work hours.

Q. Describe a time when things weren’t going well in your business and what you did to turn it around.

A. When my practice was slow, I set up cross-referral networks with practitioners with a similar client base, like personal trainers, raw food chefs, hairdressers and doctors.

Q. What was the best business decision you’ve made?

A. I used to have a house-call practice. When I finished my master’s degree in Chinese medicine, I decided to switch to an office practice. It meant risking the loss of clients and starting over. In the end, I lost the bulk of my house-call clientele but managed to establish a busy office practice. Having an office means I can book more clients in less time, and the energy I put toward traveling from house to house I now put toward treating clients.